Disorderly conduct is considered an offense against public safety or civil disorder. Mistakenly thought of as a minor offense, this crime carries a potential jail term and a permanent mark on your record. If you are unsure of what to do next, call our experienced North Carolina criminal defense lawyers for a consultation on your case and we’ll make certain you are moving in the right direction.
There are many situations that could lead to a disorderly conduct charge in North Carolina; it is a broad statute. You may have found yourself in the wrong place at the wrong time or perhaps your actions were misinterpreted by the police or others around you.
When it seems as if no one is concerned with your account of how things happened, we are. We have successfully handled many disorderly conduct cases in the state of North Carolina and are interested in assisting you with yours.
What is Disorderly Conduct under NC Law?
You may be charged with disorderly conduct if you:
- Fight or engage in other conduct creating the threat of fighting or other violence
- Use any language or gestures that are likely to incite violence or fighting
- Take possession of any building or facility without specific permission
- Refuse to leave an establishment after being so ordered
- Disrupt any class or disturb the operation of a school
- Block access to a business or prevent normal business operations
- Disrupt any religious or burial services
Generally, disorderly conduct is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to 6 months in jail.
Ref: NCGS 14-288.4
If you have a clean criminal record, there is a good chance that you will qualify to serve probation rather than jail time. Having an experienced North Carolina disorderly conduct defense attorney assisting you with your case can increase your chance of staying out of jail.
Failure to Disperse – Laws & Penalties
Related to disorderly conduct is the offense of failure to disperse. If any law enforcement officer orders you to leave or disperse from a situation and you fail to comply, you could be charged with this offense.
Failure to disperse is also a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by a maximum or 30 days to 6 months in jail.
Ref: NCGS 14-288.5
Get Help with a Disorderly Conduct Charge in North Carolina
Facing criminal charges can be frightening, particularly if you have never gone through it before. We can lighten your load by giving you expert legal advice and helping you understand exactly what is going on while you are navigating the North Carolina criminal courts.
Call us for a consultation on your case today and rest assured that you are putting your case in good hands.