Theft & Shoplifting Laws
North Carolina theft laws encompass a large range of offenses, including retail theft (shoplifting), embezzlement, larceny, and variations. All of these criminal offenses are serious with potentially major consequences.
When facing a criminal offense that could include jail time, you need the best defense attorney you can have on your side. Please contact us to find out how we can help you.
I Made a Mistake And I Can’t Believe I’ve Been Charged with Theft
Perhaps you forgot to pay for an item when leaving a store. Maybe you didn’t know the item you purchased was stolen. It could be that you did intend to steal something and but are now remorseful and full of regret for showing bad judgment and and making a mistake.
Don’t beat yourself up about it. People make mistakes, but that doesn’t mean you don’t deserve a second chance. And everyone is entitled to fair treatment under the law.
Regardless of your situation, we are confident that we can help. We are interested in the specifics of your theft case and your personal take on the circumstances surrounding it. We want to help you.
Having handled many retail theft cases in the past, we are an experienced and knowledgeable firm for the job. We treat each client as if they were the only one, however, giving them service and attention unsurpassed in the field.
North Carolina Larceny Laws
North Carolina larceny laws do not specify a “petty larceny” or “grand larceny” charge. Instead, “larceny” may be charged at various degrees of severity depending on what was taken and the manner in which it was taken.
Generally speaking, larceny of goods valued at more than $1,000 is a Class H felony punishable by up to 4-8 months in prison for a first time offender. If you have any criminal conviction on your record, however, this sentence could reach all the way to 25 months for someone with an extensive criminal history.
If the amount of goods in question is valued at less than $1,000, you are facing Class I misdemeanor charges which are punishable by up to 1 year in jail, although that length of sentence is highly unlikely.
However, if the goods stolen are taken directly from someone, or are a firearm or explosive, the charge is a felony regardless of the value.
Can I be Charged with Shoplifting if I didn’t even leave the store?
Yes, in North Carolina you can face misdemeanor concealment shoplifting charges for even concealing goods within a store. This means if you hold something in your pocket or purse, you may be charged for this theft-related shoplifting offense.
“Concealment” is a misdemeanor charge. If this is the first offense, it is a Class III misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 30 days in jail. However, with the help of an attorney your sentence can be suspended if you successfully serve community service hours.
Organized Retail Theft
Organized retail theft, another theft offense in North Carolina, is when you conspire to commit retail theft with another person. If the value of the goods in question is over $1,500 within a 90-day period, you could be facing Class H felony charges and potential prison time.
Free Consultation on any Shoplifting, Theft or Related NC Criminal charge
Facing any theft charges in North Carolina is frightening. Putting your case in competent hands of a criminal defense attorney who wants to help you can relieve some of the pressure. Call us for a consultation on your case today. There’s no obligation for our free larceny/theft offense criminal case evaluation.