The right to bear arms is guaranteed in the United States Constitution. This does not mean, however, that there are no restrictions on that right. If you are being charged with a crime in North Carolina for gun or weapons possession, we know the very idea of being accused in court can be quite intimidating. But we know the players in the North Carolina courts and we know what you are up against, so we know what it will take to protect your rights, under the law. That’s what we do, in NC criminal courts every day.
We are confident that we can help you with the weapons charges you are facing in North Carolina. When your freedom and your reputation are on the line, you want an experienced defense lawyer on your side. You need someone who understands North Carolina gun laws, and is prepared for all possible legal defense techniques. We will be in your corner to ensure you get the best possible results in court.
Whether you have been wrongfully accused or made a mistake you now regret, we can help. We have handled many weapons cases and have probably successfully defended one similar to yours. We know, however, that all cases are different and are interested in hearing about your case.
So contact or call us today to get the advice you need, and to find out exactly what we can do to help.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon – Laws & Penalties
To be charged and prosecuted in North Carolina for Carrying a Concealed Weapon offense, you must have been in possession of a concealed weapon such as a stun gun, brass knuckles, bowie knife, or a concealed firearm without a concealed firearm permit, and not on your own property.
Carrying a concealed weapon is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to 6 months in jail. If this is your second offense and the weapon in question is a firearm, the charge is elevated to a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail.
With our help you may be able to beat this charge with the following defense:
- The weapon was not, in fact a firearm,
- You were engaged in or directly on your way to or from an activity in which the weapon was legitimately used,
- You possessed the weapon for that legitimate use, and
- You did not attempt to use the weapon for any illegal use.
Ref: NCGS 14-269
Possessing a Weapon on any School Property – Laws & Penalties
If you are caught in possession of any weapon (from a BB gun to knives or pistols) on school property you could be facing felony charges. This law applies to any school campus, building, or event, from elementary to college.
The severity of the charge depends on the weapon in question. Charges range from Class 1 misdemeanor offenses up to Class I felonies, with potential prison time.
Ref: NCGS 14-269
Carrying Weapons Into Establishments Where Alcohol is Sold
In North Carolina it is against the law to carry a firearm into a place where admission is charged or any establishment where alcohol is consumed and sold.
Typically, this offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail.
Ref: NCGS 14-269.3
Use of a Firearm in Commission of a Felony or Drug Related Crime
If you have a firearm in your possession when you commit a felony or drug related offense, the classification for that offense will be elevated. Just how seriously it affects your potential sentence depends on the charge and circumstances surrounding the offense.
Get a Free Legal Consultation on Criminal Gun Laws in North Carolina
As with all criminal charges, but particular with something as serious as gun charges, the best move is to consult an experienced attorney criminal defense lawyer. You need to make sure your right are protected, and that you don’t end up on the wrong side of a Call for a consultation today on the weapons charges you are facing in North Carolina. Find out for yourself if we are the best defense lawyers to help you in this challenging time.